Online Poker Rooms - Poker School
Online Poker - Hold'em Poker - Poker Rooms Reviewed - Poker Online- 7Card Stud


Online Poker WSOP

World Series Of Poker

Short info about the WSOP

In 1970, Benny Binion, the owner of Binion's Horseshoe Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, gathered together a group of highly skilled poker players from around the United States. His plan was to have them play each other in a public setting in order to determine which of them who the best poker player in the world was. Benny Binion called his event the "World Series of Poker" and it was held at his casino in Las Vegas. In the end, celebrated poker legend Johnny Moss was crowned the very first World Champion of Poker. The WSOP has been held annually at the Binions Horseshoe ever since, but from 2005 and forward the WSOP will be played at the Rio in Las Vegas, Nevada.

In the year 2000, when Chris Ferguson was crowned as the WSOP champion, the number of participants had grown to 519 and first prize awarded him with $1,500,000. In 2004, an unprecedented 2,576 players battled for the coveted world champion title, which lured the competitors with a first prize offer of $5,000,000.

A few players have won more than one time namely Doyle Brunson, Johnny Chan, Stu Ungar and Johny Moss. They are now considered greats of the game.

In 2004 the WSOP franchise was bought by Harrahs and will be managed by them in 2005, instead of being held at the traditional Binions the WSOP will be held at the Rio suites and hotel in Las Vegas. Participant number is expected to be in between 3000-6000 players. The main event will start on July 7th and the final table will be played on July 15th. However, the two final days of the event will be played at the traditional Binions Horseshoe in downtown Las Vegas.

For the first time ever, the 2005 WSOP will be held at Harrah's Rio Suites, Las Vegas with the final 2 days of the Main event concluded at in its traditional location, The Horseshoe in downtown Las Vegas.
The WSOP is unequalled by any other poker event in the world today, and it is considered by all to be the ultimate achievement in any poker players career, to gain that coveted title of World Champion. In the year of 2004, Greg 'Fossilman' Raymer beat the other 2,576 players to win the title and 5 million dollars for his buy-in stake of $10,000, which in fact he won via an online poker site, for an original stake of $40. What an investment.

This World Series of Poker section is brought to you by Wager On Football's Poker Room Review, so that you can find out all you need to know about the WSOP.

Click Here To Go To The Online Poker Room Index >>

Start playing Poker today - Click here

"Pick your Poison!!!"

  Bodog Poker Rooms

Join our top poker rooms fast growing poker communities and put your poker skill to work in one of their many poker tournaments. We hope you enjoy playing in the top online Sportsbooks Poker Rooms.

NOTE: Wager on football sportsbook review have gone to great lengths to insure that the Paradise Poker, Party Pokre, Internet Poker, Poker, Bodog casino games,,, Pacific Poker, Poker, and online poker rooms are safe, legal, legitimate, and very very FUN. Prior to being listed as the Top Online Sportsbooks and Poker Rooms on our site, & rated higher than any other online wagering establishment. We have seen them grow since the late 90's folks. They are not in the business of ripping people off. If they were they'd be on our scam casino and scam sportsbook list.


TOP | Sportsbooks Reviewed | Online Poker Room | Bet In Our Casino Now